E3 2010 or The best games of a relatively disappointing show

This years E3 has come and gone.  After all the pre-show excitement and fanboy arguing we are left with a handful of really exciting titles and a lot of shit.  I continue to be underwhelmed by E3 year after year.  Perhaps I am becoming jaded in my old age.  I’ve been playing videogames for almost 25 years now.  I know that I am not in the minority in this fact.  Maybe it takes more to get me excited now.  Don’t get me wrong, there are a fair few titles I will be eagerly waiting for.  Overall though, a lot more shit than gold.  Diatribe aside, here’s what got my pants tight at the show… (in no real order)
1.  Metal Gear Solid: Rising

WOW!  Just WOW!  How cool is that?  I, like just about everyone else who played MGS 2, hated Raiden.  I took me years to finish that game simply because of the jarring switch he represented.  But then I played MGS 4.  And I thought, “what the fuck was that?  When did Raiden become a badass?”  Now I guess we’ll know as this game is supposed to tell Raiden’s story.  Also, fuck yeah to cutting anything in any which way I want.  Super cool!  Coming to PS3 and Xbox 360.

2.  Nintendo 3DS

(image from http://e3.nintendo.com/3ds/)
This has me stoked and I don’t really know why.  I am by no means a “Ninetendo Guy”.  I have a DS, the original, and like a lot of the titles released so far.  But this, this is something else entirely.  Maybe it’s the jump in resolution.  Maybe it’s the two-toned color scheme.  Perhaps it’s the sexy slightly curved edge on the machine itself.  Whatever it is, it feels like the old Nintendo magic.

3.  Kid Icarus: Uprising

FINALLY!  This is a game that is 23 years in the making.  And no, the gameboy “sequel” doesn’t fucking count.  Kid Icarus: Uprising represents the long held hopes of many gamers around the world.  Will it live up to the hype?  Almost certainly not; no game could.  Will it be good?  It sure as hell looks it to me.  This game seems to be a decent mash-up of Zelda, God of War, Starfox, and Space Harrier!  In the current landscape of videogames, it fits right in.  It will sell based on the name alone.  I hope the story holds up.  And, the graphics!  While not PS3 quality, the 3DS looks capable of pulling down at least Gamecube level visuals.  That alone is reason for excitement.  3DS.

4.  Marvel vs Capcom 3

Words cannot describe the level of joy that comes from a good session on MVC 2.  It is absolute gaming bliss.  While the rumors have been many over the last 10 years, no one actually expected to see MVC 3.  We simply couldn’t be that lucky.  And yet, the video above clearly shows the team of Cap, Iron Man, and Deadpool squaring off against Ryu, Dante, and Chris Redfield!  My geeky heart goes all a-flutter watching that clip.  While I was very bummed that Capcom didn’t reveal more characters at E3, they really didn’t need to.  You are either buying this game or not.  There is no middle ground.  Any fear about the 3D characters not working in 2D should be assuaged (as if SF4 did not already prove this).  The combos look as insane as ever.  Day one purchase no doubt.  PS3 and Xbox 360.

5.  Mortal Kombat uh 9 I guess

I loved Mortal Kombat vs DC Universe.  It was silly sure, but a lot of fun.  I was really looking forward to a ton of downloadable characters and stages on which to beat the shit out of Lex Luthor on.  However, with the bankruptcy of Midway, the game and it’s community died.  Enter Warner Brothers Interactive and a Brinks truck of money.  MK 9 is supposed to have a more robust fighting engine and more a detailed fighting system for not only individuality between characters and movesets but combos galore.  Mortal Kombat has always been a niche game for me.  It’s never been a “serious” fighting game, just fun.  This new entry looks to change perceptions while giving the fans more of what they want.  Namely, Nightwolf splitting Sub-Zero in half with his hat.  You can find a couple of really shitty quality videos of fatalities if you look around. PS3 and Xbox 360.

6.  Epic Mickey

Finally a reason to dust off the Wii!  This looks really cool in an old school kind of way.  Disney gets a bum rap from a lot of people.  And I’m not exactly sure why.  I don’t love everything that comes from the house of mouse.  But, I challenge you to go to a Disney park an not have a good time.  Or, think back to movies from your childhood that you loved and count how many of them are Disney titles.  For me, Jungle Book, Pete’s Dragon, The Black Cauldron, Sword and the Stone, Robin Hood, and a heck of a lot more rank among some of my favorite movies of all time.  This game looks to take full advantage of the Wiimote in a way Okami never quite got on the PS2.  I hope this gets ported to PS3 with a graphical bump.  It looks like the added processing power would do wonders for an already interesting game world.  Wii.

7.  God of War: Ghost of Sparta

If Chains of Olympus was any indication, this will be quite awesome.  Ready at Dawn studios did a fantastic job bringing the craziness of the GOW franchise to the PSP and this should be no different.  One of the few reasons to hold on to your PSP.  Set between the first two games, Ghost of Sparta looks to further flesh out the story of Kratos and his war with the gods.  PSP.

8.  LEGO Star Wars 3: The Clone Wars

Any game that gets my wife gaming is ok by me.  The LEGO games are simple, pick up and play fun.  Anyone can jump in and have a good time.  They certainly have some faults, things I hope are fixed with this new game.  However, I’m not looking for Game of the Year.

And that about does it.  There are other games that look good.  Medal of Honor, Shank, Scott Pilgrim, etc.  Most are somewhat interchangeable though.  As time goes on I reserve the right to change my mind about any game shown but as of this moment, these 8 scored biggest with me.

About GEEKwriter: Danny Ryan

theGEEKwriters is a group of people dedicated to bringing you a great number of geeky things.

Posted on June 18, 2010, in Reviews, Videogames. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

