The new Samus can go to Hell.

Posted by Captain K

I’ve been trying for some time now to put my thoughts into words regarding the treatment of the Samus character in Metroid: Other M. I really loved the game, but what they did to Samus makes absolutely no sense, especially in comparison to the game’s own gameplay. This woman on IGN did it right, save a few points.

Go ahead and read that article. I’ll wait.

All done? Good. She hits almost every point except for the end. I’m going to choose to move forward believing that this game’s cutscenes never happened. Or maybe she had some sort of phychotic break, but Samus is far from dead to me, and the people who make her games apparently feel the same way. I’m going to choose to believe that the Samus is every Metroid game is every inch the heroine I thought her to be, mostly because the games specifically tell me that’s the case. Here’s to the next Metroid game building on the excellent work Team Ninja started and getting someone other than Sakamoto to write the story.

Posted on September 20, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

