This makes me happy/sad face…

I really don’t know how to respond to this.  MTV was a huge part of my life.  I miss 120 Minutes dearly.  I miss Headbanger’s Ball.  I miss the time when MTV was daring and different and relevant.  I especially miss the time when I didn’t have to hear about the no talent assclowns on the Jersey Shore.  BUT, Nickelodeon played a huge part in my TV watching as a lad as well.  Doug, Are You Afraid of the Dark, Salute Your Shorts, Pete and muthafuckin’ Pete!  All really quality programming that kept me glued to the set.

Yo Gabba Gabba is truly insane.  However, look at that lineup!  The Roots!  On a kids show!  I don’t think MTV even plays videos anymore.  I haven’t watched the channel in years.  And that really sucks.

Hopefully music can one day make its way back to the forefront of our collective consciousness.  I looked over the reviews of the last few video awards and it seems like the same 4 or 5 artists were up in every category.  That tells me we don’t care about music any longer.  When I can know the words to a Lady Gaga song that I’m relatively sure I haven’t even heard, something is wrong.  Something needs to change.  There is so much quality if you look a little deeper.  Get the new album from the Gaslight Anthem.  It’s truly amazing and worth your attention.

I will have a top 10 list of albums at the end of the year.  Stay tuned.

About GEEKwriter: Danny Ryan

theGEEKwriters is a group of people dedicated to bringing you a great number of geeky things.

Posted on November 13, 2010, in Music, TV and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

